Hermione’s Secret

…okay, I’m quickly running out of suitable Harry Potter chapter titles – but I figured an oblique reference to time-turners somewhat applies to the fact that time has run away with me since my last post.

I can’t believe it has been two weeks since our painkiller drama! Literally. I’ve had to double-check. This past week has been mostly spent trying to catch up with my life, which slid by the wayside … and off into one of those marshy ditches filled with run-off and half-empty Gatorade bottles…while the world revolved around Harry for a bit. But no news is super news in our case:

STITCHES 

They came out last week. No fuss, no muss. I could hear Harry growling from reception, but they didn’t even need to sedate him (they had anticipated that they would, given his charming temperament when at the vet).  It took all of fifteen minutes once they took him into the back, and he wasn’t even removed from his crate (the top comes off). He has been delighted, since, to have full run of the flat back and to be free of his dapper outfits. I, secretly, will miss the opportunities for glamour shots:

 

MEDICATION

Harry was taken off the Metacam on the day of stitch removal, which was two weeks post-amputation. The vet said that inflammation-related pain usually subsides by 14 days after surgery and Metacam is an NSAID (non steroidal anti-inflammatory drug). The Gabapentin, which is used for nerve pain, has been gradually backed down from thrice a day, to twice, to once, and today was his final dose. I’m pretty confident he will be alright at this point. There has been no return of signs of discomfort.

THE C WORD

I did ask the vet for some more information about bone cancer in cats, at Harry’s final check-up, as I was in a better state to retain the information at this point. There wasn’t much comfort on offer, but also doesn’t seem cause for immediate concern. The only treatment for bone cancer in cats, I was told, is amputation of the infected limb (dogs have additional options, but the disease also tends to be more aggressive in them and a very large majority of cats do not experience metastasis – and when they do, it is mostly seen in the lungs first. Harry’s lungs are completely clear. Harry does also have asthma, but I was assured that if he was at the point that cancer was causing asthma-like symptoms they would see large masses in the lungs). Of course, there is no way to be sure. And, of course, cancer is a total dick and likely to re-emerge some day. I occasionally get gripped with fear, and sadness, over the likelihood of there being some vestige of disease hiding in his fuzzy little body. But. For now, it’s best to focus on Harry’s incredible healing and to appreciate this borrowed time he is living on, hopefully for many years to come. And to not forget that appreciation when he is waking me up at four AM.

MOBILITY

Not much new to report. He’s getting around very much like he used to, with the exceptions that he still tires pretty quick, usually likes to use the steps I’ve put in place to get down from places and he still looks pretty funny – especially when he runs. He’s had a few tumbles over or off of things, which stop my heart every time, but he seems unphased. Best of all, he’s back in play mode some of the time. Here are a couple of videos of him getting up to generic hi-jinx

No door will stop me

Huraah! String!

And here’s one of him using some of his make-shift steps (I wasn’t watching that show, by the way…it came on after something else :P). I have to say, I am so glad I started trying to put together a home-made bookshelf out of unfinished crates, and then got distracted, this September. Those things are almost perfect – I may do another post later about why they’re not 100% perfect and how to make them so.

I guess I’ll move, if there’s food

BONUS

As a little bit of “here, your life has sucked for a while, you deserve a treat,” the powers that be saw fit that I win a draw at my vet’s for $200 worth of free high-quality pet food! No, unfortunately, the amount cannot be put towards my substantial medical bill; however, this will help immeasurably with Harry’s new weight loss regimen. So: yay.

Things could hardly be going better (without, you know, my cat having four legs and perfect health).

Leave a Reply

